DIY: Birdcage Decoration

This birdcage started out life in the ASDA living store, dreaming of becoming a light-shade, when it was discovered by Elliot and I. We instantly fell in love, took it home to our apartment and I watched on as Elliot bravely stood upon a chair to adorn our living room light. Unfortunately it didn’t fit our unknown-to-us massive light fitting. Add the disappointment of that the fact we had foolishly cut the tag off in all our excitement. Not one to see it go to waste, I kept it aside for a fateful night of boredom, which struck me last night.

Bits and bobs you might need 
IMG_3772

An ornamental bird cage (Obvs)

Scissors

String

Scrapbook paper

A needle with a large eye

How it was made  

IMG_3773

Step 1: Choose your paper. If you don’t have scrapbook paper, you could use newspaper, magazines or old book pages.

Step 2: Choose your design. I went for butterfly shapes, mixed with cut outs of vintage typewriters from my scrapbook paper.

Step 3: Cut them out, and use string to sew them together in a line. If you want it to be permanent you could glue them directly to the cage but I wanted to be able to change the design if I felt like it and eventually use the light-shade for its actual purpose!

Step 4: Wrap it around however you like!

IMG_3787

I went super simple with this design but you could go mad! Add flowers, fairy lights, whatever you fancy.

I chose to put a simple tea light holder inside for now, but I think when I have a bit more disposable cash I will invest in some teeny tiny fairy lights to wrap around the cage instead. 
IMG_3788

Hope you enjoyed this DIY!

Leave a Reply

